Oman Cricket Stadium Venue for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

As we all know that venues for the matches have already been decided for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Actually, 2 countries are selected for the tournament. This time due to Covid 19 situation, Oman Cricket Stadium Venue has been selected for the first phase of the tournament which is also called the First Round.

So the first round matches will be played in Oman Cricket Grounds between 8 teams. And the remaining matches between top 12 teams will be played in UAE.

So it is all clear that the venue for the qualifier matches is selected to be Oman. In which last 8 ranked teams will compete for the top 4 positions in order to qualify for the second phase of the tournament which is Super 12s.

Oman Cricket Stadium Venue For T20 World Cup 2022

Oman Cricket Stadium Venue For T20 World Cup 2021

This time the T20 World Cup is starting from October 17. And as mentioned earlier Oman Cricket Stadium Venue is selected for the qualifier matches. It Means Oman is gonna host the first phase of this tournament. It is an amazing moment in Oman’s history that the country is one of the hosts of the T20 World Cup.

BCCI confirmed the venue in collaboration with the Oman officials that the matches are going to be held here. According to the BCCI, qualifier matches will start from October 17 between the 8 teams.

Then the 2nd phase of this huge tournament will be shifted to the UAE. There the phase 2 matches will be held. There is no doubt that Oman has some of the best cricket grounds around the world. Oman Cricket Academy is the location where matches are going to be held in the near future.

Oman To Host The First Phase Of T20 World Cup 2022

According to the low Covid 19 situation in Oman, the country is hosting the initial matches of this year’s T20 World Cup. Only the first phase will be played on Oman grounds. The second phase as we all know will be held in stadiums of Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi in the UAE.

There will be a total of 8 teams that will play this qualifying round against each other. These teams will compete for the top 4 positions in order to reach the 2nd phase which is called the

Super 12s. The names of the teams are Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Ireland, Oman, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Namibia and Netherlands respectively. All these teams are ranked between 8 to 16 and will compete with each other to make their place in the second round. Then the top 4 teams from this round will go to play with the top 8 teams of the tournament in the main round, which is the second round.

For more info, the T20 World Cup this year was set to happen in India. But India is suffering with the most critical situation of the Covid 19 as for now. This is the combined decision of the ICC and BCCI to shift the matches from India to UAE and Oman. Stay connected for more updates about the Oman stadium matches.

About Oman Cricket Ground

Oman Cricket Ground is in discussion as it is the fourth venue for the matches of ICC T20 World Cup 2022. As we all know that India is also suffering from the Covid 19 pandemic so badly. So the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) shifted the venues to the UAE for the T20 World Cup 2022. It was all allowed by the ICC (International Cricket Council) after reviewing the situation of Covid 19 in 2022. The grounds for the matches are now finalized by the ICC itself.

For this decade, it will be the first T20 World Cup which will happen with full hype. This will be a 16 teams event which is further split up in two parts. From the mid of October, it will start and 8 teams will compete with another for the top 4 places. This is compulsory for the teams to reach the top 4 in the first phase of the tournament to qualify for the second phase. Those 4 teams who manage to get a spot in the top 4 will compete with the top 8 teams which are already ranked.

Division Of 12 Teams Into Two Groups Of 6 Teams

This is actually the second phase of the T20 World Cup in which two groups of 6 teams will be formed according to criteria. And the top 2 teams from each group, Group A and Group B respectively, will qualify for the semi-finals. Then the top 2 teams from the semi-finals will fight to win the title in the final match.

It is for the first time that some of the major matches will happen in Oman Cricket Ground for the first time. Most of the matches will happen in Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Dubai International Stadium and Oman Cricket Ground. Still, BCCI is hosting all of the matches happening in UAE and Oman. All the management teams will be from India as the country is the host this time.

Leave a Comment